Geomancer

You are more open minded than I am, at least on a subconscious level. You, I think, are very fortunate in that regard. Your heart has the capacity to be stirred by many things and just as many people. My fortune was the fact that I was one those people . However, like me and completely opposite to me, the world isn’t nearly as tensile. The thoroughfare wasn’t built with your gift in mind… only a small portion of it.

You are a geomancer. You hike trails others aren’t able to see. You seek arrowheads and ancient roses. I didn’t expect you to be able to find me through all the branches and thorns, but you reached the clearing and took my hand. The wild became docile and the dark became radiant. We held each other tightly until we couldn’t continue. Paths this far from the summit are made to split. Veer East and bend West.

Our roads will intersect once again, but there are checkpoints only you have access to. The highways are alluring, with their promises of safety and community. These are things I can only watch on high, as an outsider, from my arboreal birthplace. The concrete wounds my feet. There is no lane for my people. No amount of geomancy can change that.

Once you take that golden road, why would you brave the thickets? Thinking about how much easier your life would be without the forest, makes my heart go cold. The forest can’t offer you the things your people want for you. Those who roam the woods are misunderstood and ridiculed.

I want to protect you from that.

I can’t protect you from that.

I can only offer you a spot next to me by the water.

I can only offer you my everything

 
8
Kudos
 
8
Kudos

Now read this

Just A Little Longer

Tomorrow I have a haircut appointment. People who know me well will understand that this is all I’ve been thinking about for the past 24 hours. When I’m bagging groceries, I’m actually thinking about how short I dare to cut it. When I’m... Continue →