Train Pains and Sick Gainz

Tokyo is a magically wonderful wonderland…..OR IS IT? Yeah it’s pretty great. However there are somethings that just boggle the mind. When you think Tokyo, you think robots and steel and neon. Tech Nirvana. But then you realize that the ATM’s are closed on the weekends and nights and you think “What is even the point?”

I was hosting my pal Wanda, who is well known for her babe-a-tude and electric soul, on her layover in Tokyo. It was about 11 hours of time between her next flight. So I did my Tokyo Tours thing and showed her where I hang out and whatever. However this tour came with a commitment. “Once we get to Shibuya we have to stay there until morning. No going back.”

This wasn’t a commitment based on love and trust, or even a commitment based on my extremely neurotic need for people to stick schedules. This was a commitment based around the fact that Trains stop running after 12, essentially stranding you in whatever district of the future you happen to be in. I mean we could of always gotten a taxi, but I’m not 2 Chains okay? I have no chains.

Plus I left my cash money on my desk at home, which happened to be not a good thing. Credit cards are like only usable at 30% of the places I have been to here. There is one ATM open all night at 7/11. The thing is you can only take out 1万 Yen bills at a time. That’s like 100 bucks. Don’t make me remind you of my lack of chains. It made the night kind of a late night walkathon after we ran out of Karaoke and money for beer.

Tokyo has a vibrant nightlife, if you like Clubbing, Singing, and Drinking. That is if you can afford it. The trains don’t run the businesses know that. I pay like 3 bucks for 2 hours of karaoke on a weekday afternoon. On the weekend after the trains stop you can easily pay up to 60 for the same thing. The streets are actually super empty because everyone is taking shelter at Love Hotel, Karaoke Boxes, and All You Drink bars until the first train arrives and people’s hangover follow.

The emptiness in relation to the lights is pretty eerie. The sunrise was nice though. I am gonna start going to the gym. I still have a month of break left.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Tragedy Tourism: Aokigahara

Over the Halloween weekend, I went to the movie theater for the first time since I’ve returned from Tokyo. Crimson Peak, the new del Toro “horror” movie was actually more of a period drama more than anything, which I would like if I... Continue →