Totes Tokyo

So it’s finally happened. I’ve made it to the land of the rising sun. So far it’s more like the land of extreme humidity (and apparently dengue fever outbreaks) but the magic I feel walking through the sardine can train terminals and the electric jungle gyms is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced.

I’m gonna get this out of the way for all the people who are curious about the toilets. They are amazing and I can never go back to America for this sole reason. Now shut up. I don’t ever want to talk about these toilets again, regardless of how they have changed my life and single-handedly ruined all other bathroom activities for me. I don’t care that they are the solution to all the worlds problems, and they will probably be my happiest memory I will ever have, leaving me with nothing when I have to part with them. This is the only paragraph you get about toilets. THIS IS IT.

The first thing that I saw when I walk out of my hotel yesterday, was a pop idol show. Like three girls were just there singing and dancing outside the train station. They were the official fire department idol unit, because you can’t win against fire without the power of love and friendship.

I also found some cats. Lots of cats. I guess there are parks with tons of strays that just chill out and come up to people for some serious petting. I did not pet any because they were all already being pet. Next time I’ll make a reservation.

While I pretty much love everything so far, there is the weird sensation of being a readily apparent minority. Tokyo’s pretty international so it’s not that big of a deal, but I’m suddenly very aware of my skin color. I was walking by some high school aged girls at a train station and there was an audible “Ehhhhhh?” I’m not sure if it’s cause they thought I was dressed strangely, if they thought I was a hottie, or if my complexion lead them to believe that they literally saw a ghost. I don’t mind the looks too much, but I definitely stand out. Doubly so because of hella sick fashion sense.

That isn’t always a bad thing though, in fact something pretty amazing happened just because I stand out so much. I got scouted. Like for modeling. “Oh yeah,maybe I’ll do some modeling or something.” I was completely talking shit. I did not actually plan on doing anything more glamorous than struggling to teach Japanese kids ABCs. I was so shocked that I literally couldn’t comprehend what was going on. My friend had to do most of the talking…but I couldn’t stop smiling. It was surreal. Now I have to diet though…which is hard because oh my god the food. The food you guys. The food is getting it’s own posts. Like for real.

I have a placement test in a few day, so I’m actually going to have to buckle down and study. I didn’t realize how long this summer had been until someone asked “for here or to go” and I was like “uhhhhh….” and she was like “…….” and then everyone felt weird. IT WAS WEIRD. Gonna hit the books now…. after I check out the arcade again.

 
15
Kudos
 
15
Kudos

Now read this

“If I can’t use magic, I want to die”

So the other day I went to Akihabara (also known as big geeky nerd town), to buy a SIM card for my phone. Having to rely on Wi-Fi for the past couple weeks has really been a bummer. When you stand outside Starbucks without buying... Continue →