2nd Shift

It’s been a little more than a week since I crossed the Pacific. Tokyo is full of energy. Electric. Kinetic, and Spiritual. I’m slowly but surely finding ways to siphon these energies and it’s addictive.

I’m currently watching a cicada on my balcony. It’s life ended my first night here, in my dorm, when it forcibly tried to enter my room through a glass door. On around the 17th attempt it stopped being able to get up and resigned itself to die on the veranda, or at least that’s what I thought. I’ve tried to respect it’s resting place every time I’ve gone to hang up my laundry, but the way it died on it’s back with it’s soft core exposed to the rest of the world…I wouldn’t want to be seen that way. Then again I’m not going to touch it, cause that thing is nasty looking. That’s just how death looks sometimes.

Right now I’m watching it’s legs twitch and stretch out to maximum length. I can only assume that this cicada, that “died” 4 days ago and has been lying motionless on it’s back for all that time, must have a great sense of responsibility. I’m not sure what kind of energies it is channeling. The secret to rebirth could be right outside my door under my wet towels. I’ll continue watching.

In the mean time however, I went drinking! A couple days ago we had a big welcome party on campus for all the exchange students and the Japanese tutors. It was pretty amazing how quickly my Japanese can come back to me when other people actually try and speak to me instead of just staring. My dorm mates, for the most part are still in English comfort zones, so it was the first time in while since I actually felt like I was integrating.

This hilarious french dude invited us to go drinking afterwards and for 280 yen a drink (roughly $3.00 with tax), I had quite a few. Eventually I ordered a fruit parfait cause Japanese desserts are cuter than a puppy pool party. The french guy said eat “like a diva.” I took that as challenge and shoved a good 3rd of it in my mouth. I was no longer a diva, but rather the fruit parfait champion. I plan to defend this title as long as I’m in Japan.

I think tonight really cemented the fact, that I am going to have a pretty exciting year, and that I can in fact do this.

Still need to do Karaoke.

 
9
Kudos
 
9
Kudos

Now read this

The More; The Barrier

There is something that has been slowly enveloping me over time since I’ve arrived in the east. It goes beyond culture shock. Calling it Homesickness doesn’t properly explain it either. It’s all of those things and none of them. It’s... Continue →