Local Memory Access(P.S. I’m Pretty)

Recently I was accepted into a position as an English chat leader at Aoyama Gakuin University (which is the school I’m going to if anyone wasn’t sure.) That means that a few times a week I lead discussions in English, with native Japanese speakers to help them improve their speaking skills. This allows me to become a larger part of the school community and it usually gives me just enough money to cover lunch those days. Not a bad deal.

Yesterday my students were different than the ones we usually get in the office. I had the chance to have some conversations with local residents that live close to the school. In my case I had four middle-aged housewives come hang out with me for 45 minutes and talk about their hopes and dreams, likes and dislikes, and the difference between Seattle, Washington and Seattle, Washington D.C. (The secret is one of those places isn’t even an actual place.) They also saved plenty of time to ask me if I was a typical American wimp that can’t handle eating “natto”. I am FYI.

This was one of the most fun sessions I’ve had so far. All the girls were so excited to be talking to me and they all had such interesting things to say. On of them has traveled to France 8 or so times and has started learning the language a few years ago for the next trip over. Another’s husband lives in San Diego about 5000 miles away. They all had great recommendations for the best kinds of ramen and udon in town. It was one of those smiling so much it hurts situations. It reminded me of my Grandma who is also 5000 miles away. I want to hang out with more housewives. They get me, bro.

Not that the other students don’t get me, but they don’t make me go “Awwww.” Also, last student chat session the topic was “Current Events: For or Against.” which I think is pretty in depth stuff for non native speakers of any language. Here are some things I learned that day.

-Barely anyone watches TV anymore

-Young people are pretty apathetic about politics in Japan

-Trying to bring up ISIS was a bad idea

Oh, and apparently Korea doesn’t have enough parking lots. #Themoreyouknow

In future news, I had a fitting for my photo shoot on Sunday. I’ll let you know how that goes. <3

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Geomancer

You are more open minded than I am, at least on a subconscious level. You, I think, are very fortunate in that regard. Your heart has the capacity to be stirred by many things and just as many people. My fortune was the fact that I was... Continue →