To the Core

Most days I feel normal, like nothing has really changed. I walk to school, I walk back home. I take naps. I listen to the same music. I wear the same clothes. Then there are those moments when the sake tastes perfect or when the sun sets just right from the train window. In those moments my eyes become sparkly and my smile hurts from overuse. It’s like an earthquake from my heart saying “This is Tokyo, I’ll tell you h'what.”

All metaphorical earthquakes aside there was real one yesterday, and I actually felt it, unlike the other 25 that have occurred since I arrived at the beginning of the month. I was on the 8th floor of my school building when it happened and our desks start wobbling back and forth for about a full minute. No one gave a fuck. I knew that earthquakes were a common occurrence in Japan, so I just followed their lead and put on my “playing it cool” shades.

Apparently one that lasts that long is fairly unusual, but as far as I know there is one happening right now. That’s just the way the tectonic plates get it on around here. However, I do have a causality to report. My new friend, Yuya’s fish bowl fell off of the table. His fish “Fish” (pronounced the English way) is survived by his 3 siblings (also named “Fish”) who he had never met because they are fighting fish and aren’t allowed near each other. Hug your pets and your geologist, because you never know when the next quake will hit…unless you are a geologist, in which case you can predict that. They have a harder time predicting metaphorical quakes though…so yeah.

 
6
Kudos
 
6
Kudos

Now read this

Local Memory Access(P.S. I’m Pretty)

Recently I was accepted into a position as an English chat leader at Aoyama Gakuin University (which is the school I’m going to if anyone wasn’t sure.) That means that a few times a week I lead discussions in English, with native... Continue →